Happy Birthday ! hello Adulthood ?

Ha, it was a friday morning and i woke up early on this not so anticipated day, i am 18 years old but i check myself over nothing has changed nor do i feel different. Happy birthday it was 24th July 2015 the day I turned 18.

On a beautiful day such as that there was a lot of sunshine, I brushed my eyebrows and pretended to be an adult, oh wait i am now an adult, any teenager you meet can’t wait to finally clock 18, neither was I different. The ultimate age for most kids when you get to finally be FREE ! Well i just felt normal, my mom still scolds me and i am still broke ! so why then do teenagers covet this ‘finally 18′ birthday as an ultimate achievement ?

I remember being around 7 or 8 and i could not wait to be 10 and finally have that decade added to my timeline, afterwards i could not wait to be ’13’ and be part of the teenagers clique, so on and so forth i always had age thresholds i could not wait to cross, but on the day i finally turned 18 i felt nothing infact i was indifferent like now what ? I think humans just like having something to anticipate towards, maybe its just nature’s way of keeping us hooked to that “what next?” phase we are constantly in.

I know for most teenagers like myself the 16th birthday or “sweet sixteen” as it is coined is supposed to be the best day of your life when you get your license, brand new ‘dream car’ and  have the worlds most talked about party, okay at least  the town’s best, let’s be honest here. Well if you have watched the show “sweet sixteen” a few years back on MTV you know what I’m talking about. To say my sweet sixteenth birthday was anticipated is a lie furthermore i went to school on that faithful 24th of July 2013 by school bus completely unawares, i still cannot believe it that i wrote the date several times on my notebooks yet did not remember that it was my own birthday. It was on our way back from school in the evening on that stressful day that my brother Abu reminded me and wished me “happy sweet sixteenth birthday”, the whole bus was shocked and i was even more shocked when i realised that indeed it was birthday and i had no plans.

Well cutting a long story short i went home to Duku patra in Jakarta, finished my chemistry assignment and went to sleep after my family wished me, i still was indifferent.

Why do people give such importance to birthdays and anticipate some thresholds in their lives ? why not just move on we know very little has changed maybe i moved from grade 11 to grade 12 but i will be attending the same school with the same bus and teachers with the same group of chattering girls in my class, my chemistry textbook has not changed nor did the final boards exam syllabus exclude Further Organic chemistry from the exam, although i wish it did

BYe !

yes i did turn 18 and surprisingly i was a tad bit more enthusiastic this year Who knows ?

6 thoughts on “Happy Birthday ! hello Adulthood ?

  1. Coming so late… Happy 18th birthday Salma. Well, welcome to the official age of adulthood. It’s typically expected that at 18, a person is mentally and physically mature enough to take responsibility for their actions and also make wise decisions independently. I wish you all thebest in life!

    Like

  2. Happy belated birthday Salma!
    When you’re younger you’re looking to be older, and when you’re really older, you sometimes wish you were younger 😉

    I guess certain ages like 13, 16, 18, 21, 30, 40, etc, are milestones, so that explains the attention and anticipation. I’m very grateful to be alive and every birthday is a special opportunity to acknowledge and celebrate life, sometimes privately with loved ones.

    I hope you continue to grow in wisdom.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

